Austin is a member of the Legislative Assembly. Also called the Lower House, it has 93 members, with each member representing the electorate. The term for members of the Legislative Assembly is four years.

In his role as Member of Parliament, or MP, Austin attends the NSW Parliament in Sydney and engages in all parliamentary activities, such as parliamentary debate, presenting speeches, participating in committees and meeting with Ministers. His attendance is mandatory.

Austin’s speeches can be found in Hansard at:

The Legislative Council, or Upper House, has 42 members. The term of office for members of the Legislative Council is eight years.

NSW State elections are set for the last Saturday of March, every four years. The next NSW election will be held on Saturday 23 March 2019.