The NSW Liberals & Nationals have honoured soldiers from across the Murray region with additional community grants for local war memorials and commemoration projects.

Minister for Veterans Affairs David Elliott and Member for Murray Austin Evans today met with local veterans and presented the Rankins Springs & District War Memorial Hall Committee with an $8,749 Community War Memorials Fund (CWMF) grant for the restoration of the Rankins Springs War Memorial Hall.

Mr Elliott and Mr Evans then presented a $1,843 CWMF grant to the Leeton RSL sub-branch to replace the signage at Whitton Memorial Park.

Mr Evans said the NSW Government’s investment in repairing community war memorials and educating the public on the Anzac legacy was especially important for younger generations.

“This year we mark 100 years since the signing of the Armistice. These grants ensure that the story of our Diggers lives on in local communities like Leeton and Rankins Springs.”

The funding is part of a suite of grants the NSW Government has delivered across regional NSW to revitalise local war memorials during the Centenary of Anzac.

“As we commemorate the Centenary of Anzac it is important that we honour our servicemen and women, both past and present. These projects ensure that we are educating the next generation about the Anzac legacy, and honouring and supporting our living veterans,” Mr Elliott said.

Another $10,000 CWMF grant will go toward repairing the Booligal War Memorial Hall.

The Community War Memorials Fund provides grants of up to $10,000 for projects that help conserve, repair and protect war memorials across NSW.

The Anzac Community Grants Program provides grants of up to $2,000 to schools, community and veterans groups to recognise Australia’s war service history, educate a new generation and support the NSW veteran community.

Both grant programs are currently open and close on 11 November 2018. For more information on how to apply, click here.